The return – and completion – of MythWorld!

Most of my readers know me for either the bestselling Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica series, or for my StarChild graphic novel series. Very few know that I also had a third series, comprised of the first novels I wrote and sold, which has remained uncompleted until now.

MythWorld, published first in Germany and then in France, was supposed to run at least seven volumes. Four were published in German (and Book One took the AI Award for Best International Novel) and two in French, of five written. I released two as ebooks, and expected to release the rest as both ebooks and in print editions, but I needed more help with formatting, production, and especially marketing. I’d written the books and was painting the covers, but I needed a bigger hammer.

Enter the bigger hammer: my good friends Kevin J. Anderson and Rebecca Moesta’s WordFire Press.

I’m already collaborating with Kevin on a new middle grade fantasy series, but he also offered the design and production and sales resources of the team at WordFire for anything I wanted to do. And what I wanted was to release the MythWorld books to a wider audience, which WordFire can reach in part because of their ambitious and tireless sales efforts, but also because ebooks WordFire publishes become part of the Baen Books Library.

The ebooks for MythWorld Book One: The Festival of Bones are available NOW. The print edition will be available starting at the upcoming Salt Lake Comicon in September. Book Two, Invisible Moon, is in preparation now for an August ebook release, and the plan is to release the next three volumes monthly after that. Updates can be found here at, and on the James A. Owen and WordFire facebook pages.

If you are craving more fantastic prose by the creator of Here, There Be Dragons, here’s a new series for you — and if you are a fan of the Imaginarium Geographica novels, a big surprise is coming in Book Four. Do. Not. Miss it.

The Festival of Bones is up right now on Amazon, Kobo, Smashwords and B&N


About caveo

James has written and illustrated six books in the bestselling series The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica: Here, There Be Dragons; The Search For The Red Dragon; The Indigo King; The Shadow Dragons; The Dragon’s Apprentice; and The Dragons of Winter. The series is now being published in more than twenty languages. A seventh volume, The First Dragon, will conclude the series in November 2013.


The return – and completion – of MythWorld! — 1 Comment

  1. Absolutely loved the books and I am actually reading all four of them (german version) for the fourth time by now. I always hoped, the series would continue someday and was relieved, when i stumbled upon this news and at the same time quite desperate, when i discovered, the statement was already two years old…
    So I just wanted to ask – Can I hope that the series will in fact continue soon?

    Best regards from Germany

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *