Meditation is an Action Verb

Of all the works I’ve written, I think the three book series The Meditations will be the most significant. In those three books – all coming out this year from Shadow Mountain Publishing – are all of the things I believe are most important to share with other people. Thoughts, ideas, hopes, aspirations… All these words apply, but the one that fits best is the one I chose as the series title: Meditations. Some readers are unfamiliar with the use and meaning of that word; often, it’s referred to in the context of Eastern Philosophy, as a form of quiet, contemplative, focused attention (or inattention, depending on one’s goals.)

I prefer to think of it as more of an active practice: focused attention given to the choices I make, and the implementation of those choices. It’s still a calm, reflective sort of action – but it’s more of what is meant when people talk about being in the Flow. It’s using your mind, heart, spirit and body in the focused pursuit of the things you want most – and that should be easy, or at least, easier than it is for most of us. I’ve found ways to make it easier for me to be in the Flow. The best of those lessons are to be found in The Meditations – the rest, and those things I am continually learning and learning anew can be found here, at my new website.

Here, in the Signal, I will share the best of what I know in stories, art, and in Daily Meditations like the one below. Sign up to get the Signal directly; bookmark the site; and feel free to share and pass along everything you find of value here. Magic is real. It still exists in the world. And if you’ll allow me, I can help to show you where it is – and how to find the magic that is within you.

I believe in you. And I will not let you fall.

You have a great destiny

About caveo

James has written and illustrated six books in the bestselling series The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica: Here, There Be Dragons; The Search For The Red Dragon; The Indigo King; The Shadow Dragons; The Dragon’s Apprentice; and The Dragons of Winter. The series is now being published in more than twenty languages. A seventh volume, The First Dragon, will conclude the series in November 2013.


Meditation is an Action Verb — 3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *